Cybercrime and Defenses: A 101 Introduction To How It Works

Date/Time

Thu, Feb 1st, 2018 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM EST
Thu, Feb 1st, 2018 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CST
Thu, Feb 1st, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MST
Thu, Feb 1st, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By registering for this webinar, you hereby indicate consent to receiving emails from The Justice Clearinghouse.

The news seems to be filled with stories of ransomware locking out entire departments from their computers, DDoS attacks shutting down websites, and data dumps containing passwords or other sensitive information. Trying to understand these attacks can seem overwhelming, almost like learning a foreign language, but it doesn’t have to.

This presentation by Stacey Wright, Senior Intel Program Manager, at the Multi-State Information Sharing and Analysis Center (MS-ISAC) will explain the base concepts behind some of the most common cyber incidents affecting state, local, tribal, and territorial (SLTT) governments. She’ll cover a couple of types of malware, including ransomware and financial Trojans, as well as botnets, SQLi, and DDoS attacks. As she explains what each of these terms mean and the damage they can cause your department, she’ll also explain how the best recommendations help to prevent or mitigate the attacks.

If you’ve ever wanted to know more about cybercrime and defenses, but didn’t want ask or were confused by a highly technical explanation, this is the right webinar for you.

‚Äč

Additional Resources
Cyber Crime
23 days ago
Cybercrime and Defenses: An Interview with Stacey Wright
Cybercrime and threats can be confusing - particularly if you're not an IT person. The alphab […]
4 months ago
Understanding CyberThreats to Your Organization: An Update from Stacey Wright
Is there ever a week where there isn't a report of a hacking? Some major corporation being in […]
Online Crime
7 months ago
Free CyberCrime Resources for the Justice Professional: An Interview with Ben Spear
Law enforcement has always had to adapt to keep up with all the ways criminals break the law. As […]
9 months ago
Infographic: CyberThreat Landscape
Cybersecurity is quickly becoming a top concern for every sector in our country including law enf […]
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X