Animal Cruelty Reporting: What Law Enforcement and Justice Professionals Need to Know

Animal Cruelty Reporting
Registrations: 32

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Oct 31st, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Oct 31st, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Oct 31st, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Oct 31st, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) added animal cruelty as a separate crime under Group A of the FBI’s National Incident Based Reporting System (NIBRS), effective January 2016. This workshop describes the process by which that happened, the rationale for adding it to the FBI’s crime database, and a detailed explanation of how to enter animal cruelty information on the incident reporting form. Case examples will be offered so that participants can get a sense of how to report information under various circumstances.

Attendees will:

  • understand the rationale for, and implications of, adding animal cruelty to Group A of NIBRS.
  •  learn the code used for reporting animal cruelty, as well as the four subcategories and feel comfortable being able to apply them to various situations.
  •  appreciate the importance of reporting animal cruelty crimes. 

 


 

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.

 

 


 

 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X