Bad to the Bone: Pet Abuse, Child Abuse, and Intimate Partner Violence

Registrations: 28

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 2nd, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Oct 2nd, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Oct 2nd, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Oct 2nd, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Based on recent publication in the Journal of Interpersonal Violence, which is the first in literature to utilize police officer observations and victims reports from the scene to quantify risk in homes where Intimate Partner Violence and Pet Abuse co-occur, this webinar will describe the specific emotional and physical risks of harm for all humans and animals residing in these homes. With nearly 80% of these victims fearing they will eventually be killed by the suspect, these families are likely to require immediate assistance to better ensure a safe and positive outcome. In addition to increased risk for victims, concerns for the safety of first responders at the scene of these incidents will also be addressed. Effective multi-disciplinary strategies for reducing risk and improving outcomes in homes where these forms of violence occur will be described.

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 


 

 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X