Pre-Conviction Forfeiture of Seized Animals: Considerations for Justice Professionals

Registrations: 8

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Apr 9th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Apr 9th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Apr 9th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Apr 9th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Animals seized in cruelty and blood sports cases must often be held for long periods of time until ownership is either voluntarily relinquished or the animals are forfeited as part of the defendant’s criminal sentence. Given the substantial resources that are required for housing and care, these long hold periods can be one of the most significant barriers to a jurisdiction’s ability to enforce its animal cruelty laws. Long hold periods can also have a detrimental impact on the medical and behavioral well-being of animal victims, thereby reducing their chances of adoption. This session provides an overview of pre-conviction dispositional statutes such as bond/security posting and unfit owner laws which are available in many states but remain underutilized. Attendees will learn how these statutes can be used to secure legal ownership of seized animals prior to conviction so that the animals can be placed in new adoptive homes once they are released as evidence in the criminal case. Attendees will also learn practical tips for troubleshooting some of the legal challenges that typically arise in providing care to animals during protracted hold periods, given the animals’ unique status as both evidence in the criminal case and the property of the defendant.

Additional Resources
3 months ago
Animal Cruelty and the Link to Collateral Crimes: An Interview with Jessica Rock
Animal cruelty can be an entry point for future, more violent, human-oriented crimes including as […]
animal abuse
6 months ago
The Link Between Animal and Human Abuse: an Interview with John Thompson
A long-suspected theory is finally gaining acceptance: those who abuse animals, often progress to […]
Veterinary CSI Animal Abuse
7 months ago
Using Veterinary Forensics to Support Investigation and Prosecution Efforts: An Interview with Dr. Melinda Merck
Most people agree that people who abuse animals are cruel. But there's an evolving line of th […]
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X