The Importance and Role of Building Rapport for Effective Supervision

Date/Time

Thu, Aug 2nd, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Thu, Aug 2nd, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Thu, Aug 2nd, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Thu, Aug 2nd, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By registering for this webinar, you hereby indicate consent to receiving emails from The Justice Clearinghouse.

The field of probation has been implementing evidence-based practices for many years, focusing on community safety and behavior modification of our clients.  Motivational Interviewing and EPICS II are also popular and growing practices.  But have you given any thought as to how your rapport with your participants can affect your participants' success and yours?

Balance is the key:  The balance between accountability and social support; the balance between caring and enabling.  Building an appropriate rapport with participants can take your role in a participant's success one step further.  The panelists will share their personal experiences.  Each will discuss what they have found to be effective and ineffective in building a rapport to facilitate behavioral change.  The panelists will cover the following learning objectives:

  • The importance of holding each participant accountable for their behavior;
  • Providing social support without enabling;
  • Identifying boundaries: I am not your friend, but I am not your enemy.

Additional Resources
Choices Graphic
5 months ago
Practicing What Probation Officers Preach: An Interview with Michelle Hart
While community-based supervision is an important part of any probation program, many supervisors […]
5 months ago
The Importance of Connecting with Your Probation Clients: An Interview with Paul Ventura
Managing probation clients can be similar to managing employees: it's critical to make a conn […]
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X