What Cops Need to Know about Drug Users to Stay Safe – An Overview

What cops need to know about drug users

Date/Time

Thu, Mar 15th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Thu, Mar 15th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Thu, Mar 15th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Thu, Mar 15th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By registering for this webinar, you hereby indicate consent to receiving emails from The Justice Clearinghouse.

One of the more unpredictable encounters law enforcement officers face in our society is when they deal with drug-injured or drug-intoxicated people.  These encounters are at a minimum a challenge for communication, but can also turn deadly in a flash.  Knowing what drugs do to the brain, especially how they enhance the probability for violence and irrational behavior, is critical for officer survival.  This course will address that need, first by showing exactly how drugs affect the brain, then showing how this creates a different kind of behavior in which verbal communication is less effective and a propensity toward violence is increased.  Finally, guidelines for safely approaching, interviewing, and arresting drug abusers will be covered.

This webinar is a 1-hour summary overview of an Academy Hour 4-hour course created and taught by Dr. John Duncan, a retired Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics Chief Agent with 27 years of experience in this field, also a PhD professor in psychiatry at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine.

 

 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X