Domestic Child Sex Trafficking and Children in Foster Care

DMST and Children in Foster Care

Date/Time

Thu, Jun 28th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Thu, Jun 28th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Thu, Jun 28th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Thu, Jun 28th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By registering for this webinar, you hereby indicate consent to receiving emails from The Justice Clearinghouse.

This session will address Domestic Child Sex Trafficking with the goal of understanding the victim’s perspective, especially those victims who are involved with the child welfare system. Between 50-80 % of trafficking victims have contact with the child welfare system and may have experienced homelessness, a history of previous sexual abuse, drug or alcohol addiction, mental or behavioral health issues, or a history of trauma. The session will explore what makes children in care particularly vulnerable to trafficking, including an understanding of the victim’s trauma experience and behavior, advice on how to communicate with victims through a trauma-informed approach, and practical implications for bringing a case to trial. It will cover the legal framework, including provisions of the Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening Families Act and Justice for Victims of Trafficking Act, and describe numerous state approaches.

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X