Domestic Violence 101: What Justice Professionals Need to Understand about The Dynamics, Context & Roots of this Chronic Crime

Registrations: 1

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jan 29th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Jan 29th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Jan 29th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Jan 29th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

“Why don’t they just leave?” This question is asked by many people who are good-intentioned and concerned about the safety of domestic violence victims. However, there are many reasons why victims don’t “just leave.” In this presentation, attendees will be provided with an overview of basic definitions, concepts, and statistics related to domestic violence (aka intimate partner violence) in the United States. The presentation will address how power, control, and manipulation are integral parts of intimate partner violence. Attendees will also learn how structural barriers make it difficult for victims to flee. This presentation will be helpful as an introductory course for new law enforcement professionals, or as a refresher for experienced professionals who want to revisit the basics.

 

Learning Objectives: 

  • Learn about different types of domestic violence, as well as the rates of male and female victims and offenders.
  • Understand how gender, sexual orientation, racial identities, religious identities, and immigration statuses affect the ways victims perceive themselves and reach out for help.
  • Understand the important role of psychological manipulation and love in abusive relationships.
  • Identify several strategies for trauma-informed and victim-centered investigations and first responses.
Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X