Employing Background Checks in Your Hiring Process: Legal Requirements vs Current Research

Employing Background Checks

Date/Time

Tue, Feb 13th, 2018 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM EST
Tue, Feb 13th, 2018 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CST
Tue, Feb 13th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MST
Tue, Feb 13th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By registering for this webinar, you hereby indicate consent to receiving emails from The Justice Clearinghouse.

In recent years, there has been an increased legal, scientific, and regulatory interest in how employers consider a job applicant’s criminal history and credit history when making employment decisions.  This webinar will begin with a discussion of why employers conduct background checks, move to a review of the relevant case law pertaining to the use of applicants’ criminal and credit history, then discuss methods to “validate” background checks, and finish with a discussion of the conflict between current recidivism research and EEOC guidance.

Learning Objectives

  • Understand the EEOC’s guidance on using an applicant’s criminal history
  • Learn what the courts have looked for in background check policies
  • Understand how to “validate” a criminal history policy
  • Examine the conflict between current recidivism research and the EEOC’s guidance on the consideration of a job applicant’s criminal history
Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X