Evidence-Based Policing: A Practical Approach

Registrations: 6

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Nov 27th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Nov 27th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Nov 27th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Nov 27th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Everyone agrees that police policies, programs, and decisions should be based on the best available evidence. However, what counts as evidence and whether that includes experience and professional judgment isn’t always clear.

To help sort this out, the National Institute of Justice is developing a framework for evidence-based policing that is rigorous and yet practical. It identifies the kinds of data, analysis, research, and evidence that any law enforcement agency should want to have – not just for appearances, but to be as effective as possible, given the real world constraints that agencies and their leaders must always consider.

  • Attendees will gain a clear understanding of evidence-based policing, including its limitations.
  • Attendees will learn why data and analysis are the foundations of evidence-based policing, key to identifying and understanding problems both inside the organization and in the community.
  • Attendees will learn why it is important to evaluate policies and programs, current ones as well as new ones, in order to make continuous improvement a reality.
  • Attendees will learn where to look for credible information about what works for reducing crime, enhancing public trust, improving officer safety and wellness, and other key policing outcomes.

 


 

 

This webinar has been sponsored by the International Association of Law Enforcement Planners. IALEP is a member-governed organization for people working in, or interested in, planning, policy, budget, performance measurement, analysis, research, and other related functions for criminal justice agencies.

 

 

 


 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X