Implementing the Fair Justice for All Recommendations in Arizona

Date/Time

Thu, May 25th, 2017 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST
Thu, May 25th, 2017 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM CST
Thu, May 25th, 2017 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM MST
Thu, May 25th, 2017 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Phone

Justice Domain

Implementing the Recommendations of the Fair Justice For All Task Force in Arizona

When the Task Force on “Fair Justice for All” was created in March 2016, Chief Justice Scott Bales stated “In some cases, people who pose little or no risk to the community remain in jail simply because they cannot afford to post bail or they find themselves arrested and jailed for failing to pay a court-imposed financial sanction. People should not be jailed unnecessarily or because they are poor.”

The Task Force finalized its report in August 2016 which includes 65 recommendations to address these concerns by improving issues around fees, fines and pretrial.  This session will include an overview of the Fair Justice for All Task Force and the efforts underway to implement the recommendations.

X