Implicit Bias: What You Don’t Know Can Hurt You

Registrations: 34

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Oct 17th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Oct 17th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Oct 17th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Oct 17th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Bias is a hot topic these days and it is often associated with a great deal of negativity and judgment. However, the truth is implicit bias happens outside of our consciousness and is a result of societal programming, not personal choice.

This course will explore the foundations of bias, how we come to make certain associations, the reasons our brain is hard-wired for bias and how our experiences reinforce our beliefs. We will also explore how we can become more aware of the biases we hold and detail the tools and strategies (both individual and organizational) we can use to change them. Finally, we will explore the relationship between bias, ethics and leadership and discuss how to lead in a way that improves influence and reduces liability.

 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 


Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X