Learning from Error in Criminal Justice: A Sentinel Events Approach

Registrations: 2

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 30th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Oct 30th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Oct 30th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Oct 30th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

In criminal justice, a “sentinel event” is a bad outcome that might include a death in custody, routine police encounter that escalates to violence, mishandling of evidence, wrongful conviction, or “near miss,” in which a negative event is narrowly avoided. Too often, the criminal justice system fails to learn from these bad outcomes. Drawing inspiration from aviation, medicine, and other high-risk fields, the Sentinel Events Initiative (SEI) takes an alternative approach. SEI advocates for non-blaming, all-stakeholder, forward-looking reviews of sentinel events, to learn from these events in an effort to prevent their recurrence.

This webinar:

  • outlines the sentinel events approach,
  • shares how criminal justice practitioners can implement sentinel event reviews in their jurisdictions,
  • includes information about a National Demonstration Project being implemented across the country by the National Institute of Justice and the Bureau of Justice Assistance.

 

Additional Resources about the Sentinel Events Initiative:

  • Mending Justice outlines the sentinel events approach and includes essays by district attorneys, directors of criminal justice organizations, a victims advocate, judge, police officer, and others.
  • Paving the Way compiles lessons learned from pilot site reviews in Baltimore, Philadelphia, and Milwaukee.

 

 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X