Lessons from the Seattle Pacific University Shooting

Date/Time

Tue, Aug 29th, 2017 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Tue, Aug 29th, 2017 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Tue, Aug 29th, 2017 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Tue, Aug 29th, 2017 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

Businesses, public venues, houses of worship and commercial environments experienced active shooter incidents at almost double that of targeted violence in schools between 2000 and 2013. They continue to rise in frequency, with new FBI statistics showing 2014 and 2015 each saw 20 active shooter incidents; more than any two-year average in the past 16 years.

Washington State has experienced its own share of targeted violence.

On June 5, 2014 a man armed with a shotgun killed 1 student and injured 2 more at Seattle Pacific University. The university’s security operations center was able to lock the entire campus down within fifteen seconds of receiving notification of shots fired, and a mass notification system alerting the SPU community was delivered in minutes. One student’s heroic intervention stopped him from harming more people. SPU spent more than a decade on strategic planning and implementing cost-efficient practices to prepare for such a possibility. These efforts guided the university’s response and recovery actions.

Lessons from the Seattle Pacific University Shooting is a look at the culture of preparedness SPU developed; the response by the university, police, EMS, and the media; as well as the various actions taken during the ongoing recovery phase. 

 

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 21,498 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 21,498 Justice Practitioners!

3-4 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X