Lights Out: Threats to the U.S. Electric Grid and Implications of a Prolonged Blackout

Date/Time

Thu, May 11th, 2017 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Thu, May 11th, 2017 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Thu, May 11th, 2017 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Thu, May 11th, 2017 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

It’s often said that one of the surest ways to cause fear, calamity or concern is to disrupt the simplest things that most people take for granted. Disrupting the power supply, and access to all of the technologies upon which we depend for modern life, would certainly be one way for our nation’s enemies to disrupt our modern society.

Many people have heard of Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP)  – which is a significant threat to U.S. Critical Infrastructure and the subject of study by the Governmental Accountability Office, Electricity Subsector Coordinating Council and the Senate Committee for Homeland Affairs – but few people have seen it with their own eyes or have an understanding of how it works.  Similarly, many people have heard of “vandalism” and “cyber threats” to our nation’s public utilities but aren’t familiar with the pervasive, frequent, and potentially catastrophic nature of these attacks. 

Join webinar host, Tommy Waller from the Center for Security Policy as he introduces law enforcement professionals to these issues.  His presentation will combine audio, visual, and video methods to facilitate a discussion about the following:

• the four main threats to the U.S. Electric Grid (physical, cyber, electromagnetic, and geomagnetic),
• identify who poses these threats (state actors, non-state actors, and mother nature),
• and discuss the implications of a pro-longed blackout to U.S. critical infrastructure and American society.

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 21,498 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 21,498 Justice Practitioners!

3-4 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X