How to Overcome Barriers to Successful Investigation and Prosecution of Elder Abuse Cases

Date/Time

Tue, Jun 20th, 2017 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM EST
Tue, Jun 20th, 2017 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CST
Tue, Jun 20th, 2017 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MST
Tue, Jun 20th, 2017 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

Drawing upon his 21 years experience of prosecuting both physical and financial elder abuse and neglect felony cases, Paul will highlight some common misconceptions that often hinder the pursuit of justice for elderly victims. He will provide examples of how such barriers can be avoided and will emphasize the importance of a multi-disciplinary approach that should be led by local prosecutors in every jurisdiction. He will confront likely “excuses” as to why certain cases cannot be prosecuted such as “It’s just a civil matter” or “She has dementia and therefore won’t make for an effective witness” or “he gave the money voluntarily so there is no crime.”

Additional Resources
X