Strangulation in Domestic Violence

Prosecuting Strangulation DV Cases

Date/Time

Wed, Mar 22nd, 2017 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Wed, Mar 22nd, 2017 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Wed, Mar 22nd, 2017 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Wed, Mar 22nd, 2017 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By registering for this webinar, you hereby indicate consent to receiving emails from The Justice Clearinghouse.

The crime of strangulation hasn’t always been given its due.

 

The prevailing attitude towards strangulation for decades was “if it didn’t kill the victim, then things will be ok.”

 

It’s easy to understand how this crime can be so misunderstood. A San Diego City Attorney’s study shows that only 15% of the non-fatal strangulation cases had photographable injuries. But 89% of those victims had had a history of strangled.

 

With history, research, and tracking, strangulation is becoming seen as a crime on par with every other form of abuse and assault.  Currently, 41 states have strangulation-specific statutes.

 

Join webinar hosts Hilary Weinberg and Tarah White on March 22 to learn about:

  • the short and long term effects of strangulation on the human body,
  • the collection of evidence in strangulation assault
  • and how justice professionals can work best together to overcome special hurdles in such cases at trial.
Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X