Security Threat Group

Date/Time

Tue, Apr 11th, 2017 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Tue, Apr 11th, 2017 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Tue, Apr 11th, 2017 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Tue, Apr 11th, 2017 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

For many people, when word “gangs” is mentioned, one thinks of groups of criminals in society.  What is often forgotten is that “gangs” – or “security threat groups” – are a very real, and dangerous part of the corrections environment, with the National Gang Crime Research Center reporting a 25.9% gang density of newly arriving inmates.

While this same study says 74.9% of all American prisons have rules specifically prohibiting gang recruitment among other inmates, 94% of all responding prison professionals indicated prison is where gangs do recruit/get new members.

This presence of Security Threat Groups play a role in staff safety, with:

  • 25% of prisons reporting that gang members have accounted for staff assaults,
  • almost half account for threats to staff,
  • and in general, accounting for roughly one-third (33.7%) of all management problems in prisons and jails.

During this webinar, participants will learn the leading techniques for management of security threat groups (gangs) in a correctional environment.  Specific topics will include:

  • STG v Street Gangs
  • Identification Process
  • Classification
  • Management during Incarceration
  • Documentation
  • Current Trends
  • Policy v Practice
  • Pro-Active Programs

 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 21,498 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 21,498 Justice Practitioners!

3-4 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X