The Link between Animal Abuse and Human Abuse: Understanding the link to help investigate and prosecute your cases

Registrations: 15

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jan 15th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Jan 15th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Jan 15th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Jan 15th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

“Batterers who also abuse their pets are both more controlling and use more dangerous forms of violence [sexual violence, marital rape, emotional violence and stalking] than batterers who do not.” Simmons & Lehmann (2007), Journal of Interpersonal Violence, Vol. 22, No. 9

This training will explore the link between animal cruelty and domestic violence and family violence; ensure that participants can identify signs of abuse/neglect to deliver appropriate interventions; make recommendations to support victim services and successful prosecution of cases.   We will also explore the link between animal violence and other kinds of violence:  school shooters and serial killers and the link between animal fighting and other kinds of crimes. 

 

‚Äč


 

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.

 

 


 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X