How to Understand General Medical Records for your Investigation and Prosecution of Criminal Cases

Medical Records for Criminal Cases

Date/Time

Thu, May 17th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Thu, May 17th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Thu, May 17th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Thu, May 17th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By registering for this webinar, you hereby indicate consent to receiving emails from The Justice Clearinghouse.

Medical records are often critical in criminal cases, as they detail the medical diagnosis/treatment that may form the basis of criminal charges.   However, they can be daunting when law enforcement and prosecutors try to determine exactly what they say.  This task is complicated by medical jargon and abbreviations that are unfamiliar to investigators or prosecutors.

This webinar will provide a basic understanding of what is included in most medical records (now that most of them are digital),  what records should be requested to facilitate charging criminal cases, how to organize medical records once they have been received, what to focus on in reading the records,  and how to determine which physicians or other medical personnel you might need to interview or subpoena.    It will also explain why interviewing medical personnel may be necessary, as the records may not address the questions necessary to charge the case.    It will also include a handout of common medical terms and abbreviations to assist in understanding the records.

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X