Understanding Medical Records for Your Child Abuse Investigation and Prosecution Efforts

Medical Records for Child Abuse Cases

Date/Time

Tue, Aug 14th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Tue, Aug 14th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CST
Tue, Aug 14th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MST
Tue, Aug 14th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By registering for this webinar, you hereby indicate consent to receiving emails from The Justice Clearinghouse.

Many child abuse cases are dependent on the medical assessment of the child victim, be it by a pediatrician, generalist or a forensic pediatric specialist (who may or may not be a physician).   Understanding the role of the medical professional is critical to accurately assessing, charging and trying the child abuse case; it is equally important for the practitioner to understand that the case cannot solely rest on medical testimony.

This webinar will explore the different specialties which may be involved in child abuse cases and assist the investigator and/or prosecutor in deciding which ones to utilize in court.   It will also go through the types of medical records necessary for charging these cases and will help the practitioner to understand the supporting documentation found in the medical records.    How to effectively interview the provider (e.g., what questions need to be asked, how to address timing and mechanism) will be covered.   The practitioner will also understand the limits of what the medical records/opinions can offer the prosecutor in terms of proving the case and provide guidance in how best to integrate medical findings into the rest of the investigation.

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 23,309 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X