1983 Civil Rights Litigation: What Justice Professionals Need to Know

Registrations: 13

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jul 7th, 2020 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Jul 7th, 2020 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Jul 7th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Jul 7th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

One of the most common forms of lawsuits filed against not only criminal justice professionals but all public employees is a civil rights suit or what is known as a 1983 action for an alleged violation of a plaintiff’s constitutional rights. This webinar will provide a basic understanding of what such suits are, their essential elements of what a plaintiff has to prove and some of the key defenses such as qualified immunity.

 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 

 


 

 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Sheriffs' Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units through your POST. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Paid subscribers that attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Sheriffs' Association logo.
Additional Resources
3 months ago
First Amendment, Social Media and Employee Discipline
It seems nearly every week popular media reports cases of situations where public employees post a s […]
6 months ago
What Justice Professionals Need to Know about Garrity: Myths and Realities
The United States Supreme Court decision of Garrity v. New Jersey became the baseline in which gover […]
11 months ago
The ADA for Justice Professionals
The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), first enacted in 1990 and amended in 2009 was put into pl […]
1 year ago
Giglio, Brady and Discipline Disclosures: An Interview with Rick Hodsdon
What is the Brady case and what does it have to do with you as a law enforcement officer or prosecut […]
X