A Day in the Life: How Exposure to Community Violence Affects Children

Registrations: 5

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Sep 26th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Sep 26th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Sep 26th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Sep 26th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This webinar will describe the many risks of harm (short-term and long-term) for children exposed to violence in their community. As rates of violent crime continue to increase in many communities across the United States, child-serving professionals across all disciplines must gain greater insight into the damaging effects of exposure to these incidents, on the children who reside there. With a focus on the emotionally-damaging nature of this exposure, outcome differences by: race, gender, age, and the nature and frequency of community violence exposure will be discussed. In addition, this webinar will cover the overlap between exposure to violence in the community as a child, and risks for subsequent victimization or perpetration of violence in the home and/or community as an adolescent or adult. Finally, critical components of effective and efficient community-inclusive, multi-disciplinary intervention efforts will be described.

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 


 

Additional Resources
X