An Approach to High Lethality Domestic Violence Offenders: The Accountability Court Model

Registrations: 12

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jun 4th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Jun 4th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Jun 4th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Jun 4th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

In An Approach to High Lethality Domestic Violence Offenders: The Accountability Court Model supervising officer, judges, and attorneys will be exposed to the important elements of risk assessment, monitoring, communication, and community stakeholders in the function of supervising high lethality offenders in a high lethality accountability court or on a specialized domestic violence high risk caseload.

Course objectives include:

  • Assessment of general recidivism versus lethality risk
  • What lethality risk factors needs to be continually monitored
  • Components necessary for swift judicial interaction to improve behavior change
  • Keeping victim and community safety in the forefront while safeguarding the offenders rights
  • Learn about the importance to have a coordinated community response to assist with accountability supervision of high lethality offenders

Domestic violence is no longer an issue behind closed doors but one for the community. This workshop will illustrate the extent of domestic violence and the significance of establishing who is a high-lethality risk domestic violence offender. During this webinar, assessing significant risk factors for lethality and the need for ongoing re-evaluation will be examined, as the general criminal recidivism risk instruments do not address the domestic violence specific risk. It will highlight the importance of making local community connections to gain access to important collateral information, be able to swiftly intervene, and hold the offender accountable for his actions while safe- guarding the victim and the community effectively. Lastly, we will address what information enables judges to make informed decision in these cases as it pertains to the various stakeholders and their respective roles.

 


This program was a Finalist in cFive Solution’s #Catalyst4Change Award in 2018. #Catalyst4Change is cFive’s corporate initiative created to give back to the industry by creating a platform to recognize dynamic individuals in community supervision, share insight on what works, and build awareness and support in the community and beyond.


 

X