Animals as Victims: Charging and the Law

Registrations: 21

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Feb 18th, 2020 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Feb 18th, 2020 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Feb 18th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Feb 18th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

In 2013, the Oregon State legislature declared that animals are “sentient beings, capable of experiencing pain, stress, and fear,” and “should be cared for in ways that reduce pain, stress, fear, and suffering.” Since then, Oregon’s trial and appellate courts have referenced that declaration in a series of cases which ultimately established that animals can be “victims” for purposes of sentencing. In this webinar, Oregon’s unique statewide animal cruelty prosecutor Jake Kamins will describe the development of that caselaw, his own involvement in the rulings, and the implications of “animals as victims.” He will also talk about what may come next in this emerging area.

 

You will learn:

  • How animals came to be “victims” in Oregon’s criminal justice system.
  • How the designation of animals as victims effects law enforcement and prosecutorial work on animal cruelty cases.
  • What issues remain undecided, and where legislatures and courts may go next in this area.

 


 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

 

 

 

 

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.

 

 


 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Animal Care and Control Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Current NACA Members who attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Animal Care & Control Association logo.
X