Building Resiliency for Girls in the Juvenile Justice System by Disrupting the Abuse to Prison Pipeline

Registrations: 107

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, May 16th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, May 16th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, May 16th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, May 16th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This webinar will use key findings from our report, The Sexual Abuse to Prison Pipeline: The Girls’ Story, to: 1) examine the ways that experiences of gendered violence create pathways for girls into the juvenile justice system, 2) examine how social attitudes towards girls, especially girls of color and LGBTQ girls, contribute to their being criminalized for their own abuse, 3) identify strategies to develop survivor-centered, culturally-competent, trauma-informed approaches to address the needs of justice-involved girls.  We will discuss how girls are often criminalized for experiencing sexual violence, with particular focus on the criminalization of survivors of domestic child sex trafficking. The webinar will be delivered with an intersectional lens that emphasizes the need for a culturally competent approach to juvenile justice research, advocacy, and practices that centers girls of color, LGBTQ girls and GNC youth at the core of any juvenile justice reform efforts.

Additional Resources
5 months ago
Thoughts about IPV and Animal Abuse from Andrew Campbell
Such incredible findings from Andrew Campbell's webinar, "Bad to the Bone: Pet Abuse, Child Abuse a […]
8 months ago
Domestic Child Sex Trafficking and Children in Foster Care
According to studies from the State Policy Advocacy Center and the U.S. Department of Housing and Ur […]
11 months ago
Thoughts about Abuse… from our Speaker Jacke Schroeder
"Healthy relationships are based on equality and respect." What a lovely quote speaker Jacke Schr […]
1 year ago
Children as Witnesses in Domestic Violence Cases: Law Enforcement Considerations: An Interview with Hilary Weinberg and Patrick Beumler
According to government statistics between 3-4 million children ages 3-17 are at risk of exposure to […]
X