Case Studies in Law Enforcement Encounters with Individuals on the Autism Spectrum

Registrations:

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Feb 4th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Feb 4th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Feb 4th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Feb 4th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This webinar will briefly describe the characteristics of individuals on the autism spectrum as well as a brief description of common situations in which individuals with autism encounter law enforcement officers.  We will then explore strategies for successfully interacting with individuals with autism within the context of several case studies of actual encounters across settings from traffic stops to high-risk warrant arrests.  Participants will be asked to brainstorm and problem-solve multiple alternative response options as part of reviewing the scenarios.  By the end of the webinar, participants should be able to identify specific strategies that can be used to support successful interactions with individuals on the spectrum and how those strategies can be applied across a variety of real-world situations and settings.

 

This is the fourth of a 4 part series, including:

X