Causes and Conditions of Childhood Trauma: A Practical Approach for Justice Professionals

Registrations: 1295

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Feb 6th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Feb 6th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Feb 6th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Feb 6th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Childhood trauma is the way in which a victim’s body, mind, and emotions respond to a traumatic event when it occurred in childhood. The ramifications of this response are evident throughout the victim’s lifetime. Understanding the root of this response within the body and brain of the victim enables us to understand the emotions, behaviors, and capabilities of the individual at whatever age we encounter them.

Participants will be able to:

  • Understand the lifetime effect of lack of nurturing in the first two years of life.
  • Discuss how trauma in the environment can impact the development of the victim’s brain.
  • Recognize the implications of intergenerational trauma.

 

This webinar is part of a three-part series:

 

Additional Resources
7 months ago
Trauma Informed Care and Response: 101 Training for Justice Professionals
A significant chunk of the population has gone through a traumatic experience in their lives – it […]
1 year ago
Creating a Culture of Organizational Wellness: An Interview with and Lt. Matthew Kail and Duane Bowers
Those who strive to protect the Internet's youngest victims face incredible challenges - and can bea […]
Emotional Support for Mass Casualty Survivors
1 year ago
VIDEO: Emotional Support for Mass Casualty Survivors: An Interview with Duane Bowers
Once the police tape is gone, what are the best ways to support survivors of traumatic events, li […]
Trauma Infogrx Thumbnail
2 years ago
Infographic: What is Trauma?
"The truth, however, is that day-to-day police work includes enough stress and exposure to t […]
X