Contemporary Police Responses to Addiction: Lessons from NIJ’s LEADS Program

Registrations: 7

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Apr 24th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Apr 24th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Apr 24th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Apr 24th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The police departments in Dayton, Ohio and Madison, Wisconsin have both adopted nontraditional responses to the opioid crisis and other drug addictions, including outreach to overdose victims, joint-working with treatment and service providers, and pre-arrest diversion. Dayton, in particular, was nationally known as the epicenter of the opiate epidemic, with police personnel administering 162 doses of naloxone to 82 overdose victims in one month in 2017. Major Wendy Stiver from Dayton PD and Captain Cory Nelson from Madison PD will describe the responses implemented in their cities, the results, and current trends including drug abuse patterns shifting from heroin to cocaine and methamphetamine, both often contaminated with fentanyl.

 

Other Webinars in this Series are:

March 28: Implementing Evidence-Based Policing

 


 

As a program supported by the National Institute of Justice, The LEADS Scholars program grew out of a desire to support and develop the next generation of law enforcement leadership in America. The LEADS Scholars program offers immeasurable benefit both to both scholars and their agencies. With NIJ advisory and research support, LEADS scholars have designed and conducted studies to help their agencies identify and solve major challenges through research. The program provides officers with professional development, mentorship, and networking opportunities, and NIJ provides editorial support in publishing and promoting research.

 


 

 

This webinar has been presented in partnership with the International Association of Law Enforcement Planners. IALEP is a member-governed organization for people working in, or interested in, planning, policy, budget, performance measurement, analysis, research, and other related functions for criminal justice agencies.

X