Creating an Animal Abuse Task Force: How Law Enforcement Can Work with Local Resources to Investigate and Prosecute Crimes

Registrations: 34

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 1st, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Oct 1st, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Oct 1st, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Oct 1st, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Over the past 30 years, researchers and professionals in a variety of human services and animal welfare disciplines have established significant correlations between animal abuse, child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, elder abuse and other forms of violence. Mistreating animals is no longer seen as an isolated incident that can be ignored: it is often an indicator or predictor of crime and a “red flag” warning sign that other family members in the household may not be safe. Combating animal cruelty in your jurisdiction not only makes your community safer for animal victims, but for humans as well. Creating a task force in your jurisdiction involving police, prosecutors, veterinarians and other animal welfare professionals can help streamline animal abuse cases, resulting in more successful outcomes.

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.
 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

X