Cumulative Trauma: The Covert Enemy of First Responders

Registrations: 1

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jul 14th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Jul 14th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Jul 14th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Jul 14th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

7/7: Thank you for your interest. We have maxed out our capacity for registrations for this webinar. Please consider joining the JCH to access the webinar recording. 

 

Drawn from his many years of experience with officer-involved shootings, line-of-duty deaths, and “everyday traumas”, Dr. McDougall will provide the audience with the day-to-day incidents that can cause cumulative trauma and complex PTSD.  Dr. McDougall will share clinical scenarios which reveal the numerous ways in which officers’ professional and personal lives are impacted by cumulative trauma.

Unlike PTSD, which is often caused by a single traumatic event, cumulative trauma can be more covert but can often be the primary factor behind officer burnout, substance abuse, depression, and even suicide.  Suggested guidelines and procedures for agencies, strategies to identify cumulative trauma and at-risk employees, and ways to prevent or reduce the risk of cumulative trauma, and the identification and will be provided to the audience.

 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
1 year ago
Trauma Informed Jails: An Interview with Dr. Robin Timme
We know that most inmates have some level of trauma in their background. But what about your correct […]
1 year ago
Thoughts on Trauma from Amy Morgan
We loved this quote Amy Morgan made during her webinar, The Trauma of First Response to Cruelty. […]
Emotional Support for Mass Casualty Survivors
2 years ago
VIDEO: Emotional Support for Mass Casualty Survivors: An Interview with Duane Bowers
Once the police tape is gone, what are the best ways to support survivors of traumatic events, li […]
Trauma Infogrx Thumbnail
3 years ago
Infographic: What is Trauma?
"The truth, however, is that day-to-day police work includes enough stress and exposure to t […]
X