Custody Considerations in Animal Control

Registrations: 12

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Oct 8th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Oct 8th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Oct 8th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Oct 8th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Does your agency investigate and respond to criminal cases involving animals? How do you obtain legal custody of the animal victims? Animals are property under the law, which means agencies who remove them from their owners must ensure they are standing on solid legal ground. Agencies seizing animals in criminal cases face many challenges. Animals are the evidence of the crime but, with time, their conditions change. Wounds heal and illness and disease are treated. The evidentiary value of the animals’ condition diminishes as they recover.  Therefore, by the time the case goes to court, the current condition of the animal or its presence in the courtroom is not necessary to make the case.  Animal victims deserve to recover and be placed into a suitable permanent home as quickly as possible. This session will explore civil remedies agencies have to secure custody of seized animals.

 

 


 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

 


 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Animal Care and Control Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Current NACA Members who attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Animal Care & Control Association logo.
Additional Resources
3 months ago
Animal Hoarding: What Criminal Justice Professionals Need to Know
Animal Hoarding affects communities across the globe. Although it is not a new phenomenon, authoriti […]
7 months ago
Drowning in Dogs, Cats, Horses…
Animal hoarding cases are tedious – just the sheer number of animals in such cases and the logisti […]
7 months ago
Pre-Conviction Forfeiture of Seized Animals: Considerations for Justice Professionals
One of the qualities that make animal cruelty and fighting cases unique and also complicated are the […]
1 year ago
Case Preparation and Courtroom Presentation: An Interview with Jessica Rock
For some people, the idea of having to testify in a court case might be as appealing as getting a ro […]
X