Domestic Violence and Firearm Relinquishment: From Honor System to Actual Enforcement

Firearms Relinquishment
Registrations: 265

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Sep 18th, 2018 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Sep 18th, 2018 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Sep 18th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Sep 18th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Much attention has been paid to the risks firearms pose when in the hands of domestic violence offenders.   Those risks most obviously impact victims and their children but also significantly impact law enforcement (who must respond to those incidents), the community (in the form of the risk of mass shootings) and offenders through their increased risk for committing suicide.   Knowing these risks requires jurisdictions to move away from “honor systems” where courts simply tell offenders they can no longer possess firearms to a system that actually acts on those orders and proactively removes firearms from those who are prohibited from possessing. 

On completion of this webinar, participants will: 

  • Understand the heightened risk when abusers have access to firearms.
  • Learn about Washington State’s new Extreme Risk Protection Order and the 2014 law that requires offenders subject to qualifying protection orders to surrender their weapons.
  • Learn about the successes and challenges of this new approach.
Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X