Domestic Violence Post Conviction: Responding to Victim Risk & Victim Needs Throughout Incarceration and in Preparation for Offender Rentry

Registrations: 484

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Mar 7th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, Mar 7th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, Mar 7th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, Mar 7th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Domestic abuse behaviors do not always stop as a result of conviction or incarceration.   Given that domestic violence victims can and do remain at risk from continued abuse, and the likelihood of offender reentry to the community, it is important to be aware, available and responsive to victims of incarcerated offenders. This webinar will provide information and tools that can mitigate the risk of abuse from incarcerated offenders and assist and support victims that become targets of further abusive behaviors.  In addition, this webinar will provide information about the importance of screening offenders and responding to victim risk/threat during incarceration which reduces risk and threat at offender reentry.  Finally, the webinar presenters will cover methods used to identify ongoing abuse and stalking behaviors while the offender is incarcerated and how to plan for safer releases for everyone concerned.

A collaborative and effective response to continued abuse is essential to a proactive and planned approach to high threat cases when preparing for offender release. A collaborative and proactive approach can have a significant impact for the safer release of domestic violence (DV) offenders increasing safety for victims, corrections staff, criminal justice professionals and the community. The presenters will discuss programs that identify high threat cases while the DV offender is incarcerated, what tools are used and why, and how the victim and the community can prepare for these releases to maximize available resources.

X