Domestically Violent Homes: Threats of Harm for Children

Registrations: 21

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, May 7th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, May 7th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, May 7th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, May 7th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This webinar will discuss the specific threats of physical, psychological, and emotional harm for children living in a home where domestic violence occurs. Common misconceptions will be addressed, including the idea that a child can be too young to be affected by domestic violence, physically observable signs of injury are an appropriate estimator of victimization, and the idea that children who do not actually see a violent act occur are not significantly harmed by it. Other topics to be discussed include: the various forms of child emotional maltreatment, toxic stress, child-caregiver attachment, "unavailable parenting", the effects of witnessing threats or violence against animals living within the home, caregiver risk factors for domestic violence and emotional maltreatment, how to identify victims, and what to do once victims have been identified.

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 


 

 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X