Excited Delirium and Agitated Chaotic Events: Recognizing, Responding, and Preventing Sudden, In-Custody Deaths

Registrations: 506

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Dec 12th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Dec 12th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Dec 12th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Dec 12th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This is the most contemporary, scientifically- and evidence-based program on excited delirium and agitated chaotic events (ACE) you can attend! Learn how to identify and how to respond to these medical emergencies when they occur in your correctional setting.

Excited delirium events have been around for a long time. Although not a medical or psychological diagnosis, the term can be found in early 1800s medical treatises and in many contemporary medical and scientific articles. There are 4 broad evidence-based categorical causes of excited delirium behavior; often only drug-induced behaviors are discussed and taught. In addition to excited delirium behavioral cues select agitated chaotic events (ACE) are also identified, discussed, and taught to assist you and your agency in managing and minimizing liability. ACE events include, but are not limited to alcohol withdrawal, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), epilepsy (SUDEP), and similar events. These events may result in an in-custody death.

In-custody deaths refer to the sudden, unexpected death of an individual who is in housed in your correctional setting. Many times, electronic control weapons (ECW) are associated with these deaths. This program discusses the role and scientific research about ECDs, and highlights the strengths and weaknesses of ECDs being associated with such deaths. 

It is not a matter of "if" you or your jail setting will experience an in-custody death involving a person who is in a state of excited delirium or agitated chaotic state, but "when" it will occur. Be prepared. This webinar will help you to save lives, including your own, and possibly your career.

 


The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 


 

Additional Resources
X