Family Abductions Part 1: NCMEC Resources for Domestic and International Family Abductions

Registrations: 8

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jun 11th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Jun 11th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Jun 11th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Jun 11th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Every year children in the United States are wrongfully removed or retained by a parent or family member. When a child is abducted by a family member, the parent who has been left behind faces seemingly insurmountable obstacles. The emotional, legal, and financial difficulties precipitated by the abduction can be among the hardest challenges a parent will ever encounter. For parents whose children are taken to or retained in foreign countries, these hardships can be particularly overwhelming. Despite these obstacles, however, searching family members can mobilize an effective response. NCMEC provides technical assistance and support to families, law enforcement and attorneys in the prevention of family abductions and assists in locating and recovering missing children. This presentation offers descriptions and realistic assessments of available civil and criminal remedies, explains applicable laws, and identifies resources and strategies to help searching parents recover their children.

 

Click here to register for Part 2 of this series.

Additional Resources
4 months ago
Missing Children via Online Luring
Just as technology assists our daily lives to make things easier and seamless, it also helps those w […]
10 months ago
Federal Legislation Impacting Children Missing from Care and NCMEC Resources: An Interview with Leemie Kahng-Sofer
Any time a child goes missing is a gut-wrenching moment. But when that child goes missing while in t […]
Ambiguous Loss
1 year ago
Ambiguous Loss: The impact of missing persons on victims, advocates and judicial system personnel
Experiencing loss is painful, but there is some solace in the conclusiveness of knowing something […]
1 year ago
Learning to Pass Missing Persons Legislation: An Interview with Todd Matthews
On May 2, 2017, Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam signed into law "Help Find the Missing Act" - Missing […]
X