Family Reentry Meetings and Family Transition Meetings (for juveniles and adults)

Registrations: 7

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, May 21st, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, May 21st, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, May 21st, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, May 21st, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

These two types of meetings provide an opportunity for family members to have an important discussion before and/or after the incarceration of a loved one.  The person sentenced to do time can have a Family Transition Meeting at the beginning of serving their sentence, in which the family can discuss their concerns and hopes for their loved one to spend their incarcerated time constructively. They can discuss the details of what will be accomplished (such as drug treatment, counseling, education, non-violence), plan out visitation and other contact, and determine what needs to be taken care of by the family members at home to keep everything supportive and running smoothly.

Family Reentry Meetings are designed for those coming home from incarceration to meet with their family members to both reconcile their relationships and develop a detailed plan for their reentry.

(Both of these meetings can be done inside or outside of the facility depending on the case and on the policies in place).

In this webinar, participants will learn about:

  • The structure and benefits of Family Reentry Meetings and Family Transition Meetings 
  • How these meetings support the incarcerated person, the family and the goals of the justice system
  • Success stories and testimonials from participants

 

~~~~~

“This meeting gave me the chance to re-connect with my family

and understand different aspects of my addiction.

My family offered me support

and they see that I’m for real about doing better. 

Hearing how you’ve affected the ones you love has a profound affect.

You can learn that people are still there for you."

 

From a Person Returning Home after Incarceration

~~~~~

Additional Resources
X