Family Violence and the Abuse to Prison Pipeline for Girls

Registrations: 13

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 6th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Oct 6th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Oct 6th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Oct 6th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This webinar will examine how experiences of gendered violence create pathways for girls into the juvenile justice system with an emphasis on girls who are pushed into the system after experiencing familial violence. Participants will learn (1) common drivers for girls into the juvenile justice system, (2) how social attitudes towards girls, especially girls of color, contribute to their being criminalized for their own abuse, and (3) effective strategies and promising practices to reduce reliance on the juvenile justice system as a response to girls’ trauma.

Additional Resources
3 months ago
From Child Welfare to the Juvenile Justice System: Disrupting the Abuse to Prison Pipeline For Girls
There is a problem with the child welfare system. Children are directed to the child welfare system […]
3 months ago
A Day in the Life: How Exposure to Community Violence Affects Children
Multiple studies supported that violence and trauma have very debilitating effects on children that […]
8 months ago
Building Resiliency for Girls in the Juvenile Justice System by Disrupting the Abuse to Prison Pipeline
Unfortunate is an understatement when we talk about the fate of a lot of children who end up in juve […]
2 years ago
Understanding Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking Infographic
Based on a webinar, this infographic dispells the most common myths about domestic minor sex traf […]
X