Federal Statutes and Who is Not Allowed to Possess Firearms

Registrations: 57

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, May 16th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, May 16th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, May 16th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, May 16th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The firearms debate and issues of public safety firearms regulation and the Second Amendment are going to continue in the public policy spotlight. In this course, we are going to discuss who is prohibited under federal law from possession of firearms under current law so those involved in its enforcement and policymakers have a better understanding what current law does or does not do. Topics include:

  • Who is banned from possession of firearms under federal law
  • Domestic violence and firearms laws
  • The impact of state laws on federal firearms possession

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
4 months ago
Planning and Implementing Medication Assisted Treatment in Jails: What Justice Professionals Need to Know
Jails in the US admit more than 10.9 Million inmates per year, a portion of whom suffer from some fo […]
8 months ago
First Amendment Speech and the Public Sector Employee: An Interview with Rick Hodsdon
Flag burning. Letters to the Editor. Peaceful Protest. Taking a knee. Graphic t-shirts. The First […]
10 months ago
Giglio, Brady and Discipline Disclosures: An Interview with Rick Hodsdon
What is the Brady case and what does it have to do with you as a law enforcement officer or prosecut […]
X