Female Offenders of Sexual Violence and Domestic Violence: Understanding Gendered Pathways to Crimes

Registrations: 201

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The vast majority of sexual violence and domestic violence offenders are heterosexual men. However, some offenders are women. What are the primary motivating factors and issues at work in the lives of women who commit sexual violence or domestic violence? How do women’s and men’s “pathways” to crime differ? How might the different life experiences of female offenders affect our approaches to prosecution, incarceration, and rehabilitation? How can we address the blurred lines between female victims and offenders? In this presentation, attendees will learn about basic rates of female offending, the primary pathways of women and girls into crime and the justice system, and strategies to effectively work with female offenders.

Attendees will…

  • Learn about the rates of female offenders of sexual violence and domestic violence.
  • Understand and be able to explain how previous and current violent victimizations, including sexual violence and domestic violence, affect women’s decisions to harm others.
  • Recognize and be able to explain the importance of providing trauma-informed rehabilitative services to incarcerated female offenders.
Additional Resources
1 month ago
Domestic Violence 101: What Justice Professionals Need to Understand about The Dynamics, Context & Roots of this Chronic Crime
Domestic violence is one of those crimes that used to be swept under the rug because of stigma. But […]
6 months ago
Domestic Violence and Firearm Relinquishment: An Interview with Kim Wyatt and Sandra Shanahan
Domestic violence and guns can be a lethal combination. In 2014, Washington State adopted a fire […]
10 months ago
Infographic: Partners in Crime – The Link between animal abuse and human abuse
“When animals are abused, people are at risk; When people are abused, animals are at risk.& […]
1 year ago
The Domestic Violence Pre-Sentencing Investigation: An Interview with Sara Mahoney
Domestic Violence offenders are unique: their chosen victims are those closest to him or her. Giv […]
X