First Amendment, Social Media and Employee Discipline

Registrations: 34

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Nov 5th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Nov 5th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Nov 5th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Nov 5th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

It seems nearly every week popular media reports cases of situations where public employees post a social media comment first and think about those impactions only after the genie is out of the bottle.

In this webinar, we are going to start first a basic review of supreme court cases involving the First Amendment rights of public employees balanced against the ability of an employer to impose discipline for the content and method of communications.

Based on that foundation, we will then explore the particular application to social media using some recent cases as examples of protected and not protected speech. This webinar should help employers, employees and their attorneys navigate this ever-changing area of law.

 

 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.


 

 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Sheriffs' Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units through your POST. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Paid subscribers that attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Sheriffs' Association logo.
Additional Resources
6 months ago
Family Medical Leave Act for Justice Professionals
The Family Medical Leave Act is one of the major pieces of legislation adopted in the early 1990s. I […]
1 year ago
First Amendment Speech and the Public Sector Employee: An Interview with Rick Hodsdon
Flag burning. Letters to the Editor. Peaceful Protest. Taking a knee. Graphic t-shirts. The First […]
X