Identity Theft and Consumer Fraud Investigations: Free Resources for Law Enforcement

Registrations: 387

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Feb 14th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Feb 14th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Feb 14th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Feb 14th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), a national consumer protection agency, offers free resources to help you protect your community against consumer fraud and identity theft. The FTC’s Consumer Sentinel Network is a free law enforcement database that helps you track and investigate fraud-based crimes in your community, locate witnesses, uncover evidence, and coordinate with law enforcers in other jurisdictions. IdentityTheft.gov is a one-stop resource that eliminates the need for police reports in most instances while helping you give immediate recovery assistance to identity theft victims. The FTC also has high-quality resources to support your agency’s community outreach programs, including social media resources and ready-to-use campaigns to help you teach older adults, children, and others about online safety and how to recognize and avoid common scams.

  • Learn about the Consumer Sentinel Network, a unique investigative cyber tool that gives you access to millions of consumer complaints submitted directly to the FTC and to over 40 data contributors, including the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, over 20 state attorneys general, and all North American Better Business Bureaus. See complaint trends and get top violator reports for your jurisdiction. Investigate fraud-based crimes using visualization tools that let you explore links between companies, locations, phone numbers, URLs, and more.  Join over 2,600 law enforcers from nearly 1,000 federal, state, local, and international agencies that are Sentinel members.
  • Learn to use IdentityTheft.gov to give immediate assistance to identity theft victims, streamline the crime-reporting process, and support a low-cost, high-impact community outreach program centered on identity theft deterrence and response. Identity theft affects millions of people every year. IdentityTheft.gov offers personalized recovery plans for more than 30 types of identity theft, along with pre-filled letters and forms that can help victims clear their credit reports and accounts of fraudulent information.
  • Discover free, high-quality resources for your agency’s fraud prevention and education programs, including ready-to-use campaigns to reach out to older adults, adolescents, and others about government imposters, grandparent, romance, and tech-support scams, online safety, and more.
X