From Guide Dogs to Therapy Squirrels: The Americans with Disabilities Act and Animal Welfare Professionals

Registrations: 423

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Mar 28th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Mar 28th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Mar 28th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Mar 28th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

What happens when a person is bitten by a guide dog for the visually impaired, or the owner of an emotional support animal is hospitalized? The lines defining service animals and companion animals seem to be continually blurring in today’s society, and as Animal Welfare Professionals we must walk the line of performing our duties to the best of our ability and not violating the rights of those in our community.

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is designed in part to protect the rights of citizens who need the assistance of animals in day to day life. However, it can also create uncertainty in the field when performing investigations or potentially derail an otherwise clear-cut case.

This sessionĀ is designed to give insight into interactions with individuals potentially protected by the ADA, what options agencies may have when a service animal is involved in an investigation and some of the more unique applications of the law.


 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

 


 

Additional Resources
2 months ago
Bad Dogs, Bad Dogs, Whatcha Gonna Do? The Designation and Regulation of Vicious/Dangerous Dogs
Videos of dogs doing smart, crazy and stupid things can make one think that they're angels. Most dog […]
4 months ago
Opioids, Animal Welfare and K9 Safety
Dogs have proven themselves to be helpful and dependable companions that a selected few are even tra […]
5 months ago
Thoughts about IPV and Animal Abuse from Andrew Campbell
Such incredible findings from Andrew Campbell's webinar, "Bad to the Bone: Pet Abuse, Child AbuseĀ a […]
10 months ago
Animal Cruelty and the Link to Collateral Crimes: An Interview with Jessica Rock
Animal cruelty can be an entry point for future, more violent, human-oriented crimes including assau […]
X