Giglio, Brady and Discipline Disclosures: What Prosecutors and Law Enforcement Need to Know

Registrations: 326

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Jun 20th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Jun 20th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Jun 20th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Jun 20th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

In the decisions of the United States Surpeme Court, commonly known as Brady and Giglio, it was decreed the government has an affirmative obligation to disclose exculpatory information to the defense — including impeachment material.

In this presentation, we explore the impact of employment discipline on those disclosure obligations. By the time the seminar is done you will have a better understanding of:

  • Brady and Giglio obligations and case law
  • How employment discipline is evolving and impacting Brady obligations
  • What a "Brady List" is and its implications
  • Options to manage Brady issues
  • The potential for cooperation and conflict between law enforcement and prosecutors
  • Future trends and emerging issues  on Brady obligations

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 


 

Additional Resources
3 months ago
Giglio, Brady and Discipline Disclosures: An Interview with Rick Hodsdon
What is the Brady case and what does it have to do with you as a law enforcement officer or prose […]
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X