How Justice Agencies Can Implement and Benefit from Sentinel Event Reviews

Registrations: 187

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 22nd, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Oct 22nd, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Oct 22nd, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Oct 22nd, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The National Institute of Justice’s (NIJ) Sentinel Events Initiative takes a learning approach to error in the criminal justice system. This approach advocates for non-blaming, forward-looking, all-stakeholder event reviews of negative criminal justice outcomes, which might include a death in custody, routine police encounter that escalates to violence, wrongful conviction, or “near miss” in which a negative event is narrowly avoided.

Drawing on years of research, stakeholder input, and beta projects, NIJ launched a National Demonstration Project in 2018 to implement sentinel event reviews across the country. This webinar will lay out the sentinel events approach and discuss successes, challenges, and lessons learned from the demonstration project.

 

This webinar:

  •          outlines the sentinel events approach,
  •          shares how criminal justice practitioners can implement sentinel event reviews in their jurisdictions,
  •          includes information about a National Demonstration Project being implemented across the country by the National Institute of Justice and the Bureau of Justice Assistance.
Additional Resources
11 months ago
Learning from Error in Criminal Justice: A Sentinel Events Approach
In life, there are no failures or mistakes, just lessons. The criminal justice field could take a hi […]
1 year ago
LEADS Scholars and Agencies: an Interview with Gary Cordner
Evidence-Based Practices have become a significant part of conversation throughout the justice commu […]
2 years ago
Implementing Evidence Based Practices in Your Organization: An Interview with Dr. Jeff Fox
Staff will often complain when they hear they have to adapt what they're doing and start to base t […]
2 years ago
Competency Based Human Resourcing: Evidence Based Practices
How does your organization ensure they are hiring the right people, with the correct mix of technica […]
X