ICS and Legal Considerations for Animals in Natural Disaster Response

Registrations: 23

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 8th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Oct 8th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Oct 8th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Oct 8th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Animals are an important part of many people’s families bringing added challenges to an already crisis filled disaster event. During this webinar, we will highlight legal considerations for addressing animal issues in disaster response, including the integration of animal rescue and response teams into the Incident Command System during the response. Additional topics will be considerations when planning for evacuation and shelter prior to an event and rescue and sheltering during an event. Animal issues are people issues and preparation and planning to include how you organize and respond to a disaster can make all the difference in keeping families together.

TAKE-AWAYS:

  • The Pets Act requirements for animals in disaster plans.
  • The Incident Command Structure and how to integrate animal care organizations.
  • Legal considerations for animal response from field rescue to sheltering.
  • Jurisdictional authority for animal rescue and response.

 

 


 

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.

 

 

 

 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

 


 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Animal Care and Control Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Current NACA Members who attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Animal Care & Control Association logo.
X