The Impact of an Officer Involved Shooting

Registrations: 6

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Mar 13th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Mar 13th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Mar 13th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Mar 13th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This webinar is designed to help members of law enforcement understand and recognize the effects of a critical incident that involves an officer-involved shooting. This webinar will provide information on who is impacted by the event and will describe the symptoms associated with potential stress responses.

This webinar also covers those who are subject to critical incident stress following a shooting, and what an officer can expect to experience afterwards, both physically and emotionally. Details regarding the process of OIS guidelines are discussed, as well as the role of management and peer support during this difficult time.

Trainees will learn about a variety of intervention strategies and communication techniques for interacting effectively with traumatized individuals, as well as the ability to recognize the signals that lets you know an officer is stuck and unable to cope effectively. Our goal is to prepare trainees to become better equipped in handling OIS situations.

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.


 

 

Additional Resources
X