Investigating and Prosecuting Sex Trafficking Cases in Tribal Communities

Registrations: 10

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Nov 5th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Nov 5th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Nov 5th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Nov 5th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Tribal communities, like all other communities, can be impacted by sex trafficking. Victims of sex trafficking frequently suffer horrific abuse for prolonged periods of time with devastating emotional and physical effects. What complicates the response to these offenses in tribal communities is the unique jurisdictional structure in Indian country and the potential for multiple jurisdictions to work a criminal case or provide services to the victims. This webinar will cover Indian country criminal jurisdiction, federal sex trafficking, and sexual abuse laws, tribal responses to sex trafficking, victims’ rights and services available for sex trafficking victims and related emerging issues in tribal communities.

 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 


 

 

 

Additional Resources
4 months ago
Developing Your Labor Trafficking Threat Assessment
Issues in immigration arise due to instances of labor trafficking – a modern form of slavery where […]
11 months ago
Combating Labor Trafficking: An Interview with Colleen Owens
When you hear the phrase "human trafficking," what immediately comes to your mind? If you're like […]
2 years ago
Understanding Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking Infographic
Based on a webinar, this infographic dispells the most common myths about domestic minor sex traf […]
2 years ago
Protecting the Victims of Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking: An Interview with Eva Klain
  It’s an unthinkable, unspeakable crime that happens every day in cities large and small […]
X