Investigating Financial Exploitation: New York’s FEIST-y New Approach

Registrations: 8

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Oct 23rd, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Oct 23rd, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Oct 23rd, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Oct 23rd, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This webinar will discuss the development and implementation of a new tool to assist APS and its partners in the investigation of suspected financial exploitation of vulnerable adults. The tool, called the Financial Exploitation Investigation Suite of Tools (FEIST), was developed by Karen Webber, forensic accountant, in conjunction with the Bureau of Adult Services of the New York State Office of Children & Family Services (OCFS), under a federal grant from ACL to enhance APS practice. The FEIST assists with client interviews, identification of red flags, the collection of financial and other records, following of investigative leads, formatting of data for further review by a forensic accountant, and assisting with referrals for civil or criminal legal proceedings. This grant, which included access to a forensic accountant for consultations and full reviews, is currently being piloted in several regions of New York.

Additional Resources
2 months ago
Investigating Financial Exploitation of Older and Vulnerable Adults
Financial exploitation of older adults is occurring more and more across the United States.  Despit […]
7 months ago
Growing and Nurturing Elder Abuse Multidisciplinary Teams
Peg Horan and Lindsay Calamia are back on Justice Clearinghouse for the second part of their webinar […]
1 year ago
Thoughts on Elder Abuse
A powerful comment from San Diego County District Attorney Summer Stephan in the San Diego County E […]
1 year ago
INFOGRAPHIC: The Hidden Nature of Elder Abuse
Few elder abuse cases enter the court labeled as crimes.  Instead, elder abuse, neglect, and […]
X